Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Author(s): Inga Saffron
  • Publication Information:
    Ed.: 1st ed. New York : Broadway Books. 2002
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Type:
      eBook.
    • Abstract:
      In the tradition of Cod and Olives: a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts, today caviar is an icon of luxury and wealth. In Caviar, Inga Saffron tells, for the first time, the story of how the virgin eggs of the prehistoric-looking, bottom-feeding sturgeon were transformed from a humble peasant food into a czar's delicacy–and ultimately a coveted status symbol for a rising middle class. She explores how the glistening black eggs became the epitome of culinary extravagance, while taking us on a revealing excursion into the murky world of caviar on the banks of the Volga River and Caspian Sea in Russia, the Elbe in Europe, and the Hudson and Delaware Rivers in the United States. At the same time, Saffron describes the complex industry caviar has spawned, illustrating the unfortunate consequences of mass marketing such a rare commodity.The story of caviar has long been one of conflict, crisis, extravagant claims, and colorful characters, such as the Greek sea captain who first discovered the secret method of transporting the perishable delicacy to Europe, the canny German businessmen who encountered a wealth of untapped sturgeon in American waters, the Russian Communists who created a sophisticated cartel to market caviar to an affluent Western clientele, the dirt-poor poachers who eked out a living from sturgeon in the aftermath of the Soviet collapse and the “caviar Mafia” that has risen in their wake, and the committed scientists who sacrificed their careers to keep caviar on our tables. Filled with lore and intrigue, Caviar is a captivating work of culinary, natural, and cultural history.
    • Subject Terms:
    • Subject Terms:
    • Related ISBNs:
      9780767906234. 9780767911191.
    • Accession Number:
      70765082
    • Accession Number:
      742784
    • Publication Information:
      Print/Save 0 pages
      Copy/Paste Restricted
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      INGA SAFFRON. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. New York: Broadway Books, 2002. v. 1st edISBN 9780767906234. Disponível em: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784. Acesso em: 23 out. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Inga Saffron. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. Vol 1st ed. Broadway Books; 2002. Accessed October 23, 2020. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784
    • APA:
      Inga Saffron. (2002). Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy: Vol. 1st ed. Broadway Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Inga Saffron. 2002. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. Vol. 1st ed. New York: Broadway Books. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784.
    • Harvard:
      Inga Saffron (2002) Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. New York: Broadway Books. Available at: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784 (Accessed: 23 October 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Inga Saffron 2002, Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy, vol 1st ed, Broadway Books, New York, viewed 23 October 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Inga Saffron. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. Vol. 1st ed, Broadway Books, 2002. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Inga Saffron. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy. Vol. 1st ed. New York: Broadway Books, 2002. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Inga Saffron. Caviar : The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World’s Most Coveted Delicacy [Internet]. Vol. 1st ed. New York: Broadway Books; 2002 [cited 2020 Oct 23]. Available from: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=nlebk&AN=742784

Reviews

Booklist Monthly Selections - #1 September 2002

Caviar, along with champagne, marks the height of gastronomic elegance. Unlike the ubiquitous champagne, caviar has grown increasingly rare and ever more expensive. Centuries ago, Russian rivers so teemed with enormous sturgeon that fishermen were overwhelmed with roe, which they tossed to their lucky pigs. First peasants learned to appreciate the toothsome sturgeon eggs; then their overlords discovered caviar's virtues for themselves. It also took development of salting and chilling techniques to make caviar transportable. As with other natural products, demand quickly outstripped supply, and sturgeon populations went into irreversible decline. Political and economic turmoil in present-day Russia, source of much of the world's caviar, has raised the specter of sturgeon's extinction as poachers undo government planning. Meanwhile, the U.S and other countries are attempting to develop their own sturgeon-raising industries. To give the caviar trade a human face, Saffron offers portraits of both historical and contemporary Russian, Greek, and German personalities who have dedicated their lives to expanding the market for this regal roe. ((Reviewed September 1, 2002)) Copyright 2002 Booklist Reviews

LJ Reviews 2002 June #1

If you liked Cod, you'll love Caviar: a thoroughgoing account from a reporter for the Philadelphia Inquirer. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.